- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:44

London

18:14

Dubai

21:14

NewYork

13:14

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Uber app in U.S. to enable users to book COVID-19 vaccines and rental cars

2021-04-29
IMG

In a production presentation, Uber Technologies Inc stated that the U.S customers can now book an appointment with Walgreens pharmacy for the vaccination and also a ride to reach there.

The new feature is an expansion on Uber and Walgreens partnership that was announced in February, as the state opens vaccination to all adults.

As per Sundeep Jain, Uber's chief product officer, the sooner the vaccinations are done the quicker the pre-pandemic situations can be established, hence bringing the business back to normal. He said that already there are signs of improvement, as March has been the best month for Uber, since the pandemic began.

Uber has announced partnerships with other car rental agencies also. 

Uber will be now offering car rentals through its app, where up to 10% will be credited to the user, which they can use for the next Uber services. 

As per Jain, the users will be doing most of the rental car paperwork digitally, but did not disclose the financials of the partnership.

Uber's smaller rival Lyft Inc already offers car rentals in partnership with Sixt SE.

Uber also said it would expand an option to reserve rides in advance to more U.S. and European cities and allow customers to book and collect food delivery orders during a ride-hail trip.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter