- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

21:47

London

17:17

Dubai

20:17

NewYork

12:17

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Two Myanmar air bases come under attack - reports

2021-04-29
IMG

According to sources, two air bases in Myanmar were attacked on Thursday, with a blast and rocket launched on the other. Still no one has taken any responsibility for the attack and no loss of life has been reported.

As per a media report, three blasts happened at an air base near the central town of Magway. Later in another attack, five rockets were fired at the main air base of the country, at Meiktila, northeast of Magway according to Than Win Hlaing, a reporter who was near the base at the time.

Since the ouster of an elected government led by Nobel laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, pro-democracy protests have rocked cities and towns, and the military has cracked down with lethal force, killing more than 750 people, according to an activist group. Reuters is unable to confirm the casualty toll.

The fight between the ethnic minority insurgents and the military has increased, since the launch of various air strikes by the military in the north and east.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter