- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

23:34

London

19:04

Dubai

22:04

NewYork

14:04

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Taiwan minister plays down chances for chip production in EU

2021-04-28
IMG

Stating TSMC who is the industry leader in making advanced semiconductors, that it will focus its most advanced technology on the island, Wang Mei-hua, the Economy Minister of Taiwan stated that there are no chances that Taiwan tech firms would be doing chip production in the EU.

The comments come after there were statements from the EU, that in order to achieve its goal of securing the most advanced chip production technology over the next decade, it would persuade global chipmakers to build a major fabrication plant on EU territory.

Thierry Breton, who is the European Commissioner responsible for the EU's internal market will be holding talks with Maria Marced, who is the chief executive of the U.S.-based Intel and the president of TSMC's Europe division, on Friday.

Sources in Brussels say Breton is keen to reel in TSMC, which is widely regarded as the undisputed industry leader and has a better command of the most advanced manufacturing processes.

Breton's push for technology 'sovereignty' for the EU comes as a surge in demand for everything from consumer electronics to cars has disrupted global supply chains and exposed the continent's reliance on chips made in Asia.

Though TSMC has stated to focus its production in Taiwan, it also has plants in China, and also plans to build its own $12 billion factory in the U.S. state of Arizona.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter