- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:12

London

17:42

Dubai

20:42

NewYork

12:42

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

South Korean fishermen hold boat protests against Japan nuclear plans

2021-04-30
IMG

There were almost 800 fishermen who took part in rallies at ports in nine cities in South Korea on Friday, staging their protests and calling Japan to reverse its decision to release contaminated water from its crippled Fukushima nuclear plant into the sea.

The protesters held anti-Japan banners and chanted slogans such as “Withdraw Japan’s decision” and they condemned the nuclear attack.

Park Re-seung, the chief of Yongdu-ri fishing village, said that his father had passed as a property the sea to him, and he will pass it to his son. He questioned Japan, on how they could do such a thing, and they also eat fish, and still how can they do this?

Earlier Japan had stated that it would release about 1 million tonnes of contaminated water into the sea, from its earthquake hit nuclear plant. The statement immediately drew opposition from South Korea, China and Taiwan.

“For us, this issue is about making our living,” Park added. “If the customers continue to see the news of the water release, they wouldn’t be even buying fishes that we caught here.”

Subscribe To Our Newsletter