- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:13

London

17:43

Dubai

20:43

NewYork

12:43

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Russian prosecutor freezes activity of Kremlin critic Navalny's regional groups

2021-04-26
IMG

A lawyer of the Navalny group stated that the activities of the regional campaign groups of the jailed Kremlin critic Alexei Navalny have been formally suspended by state prosecutors on Monday, pending a court ruling on whether to label them extremist.

On Monday there was a preliminary court hearing in Moscow, in order to consider a request by a prosecutor to label Navalny’s groups as extremist.

Leonid Volkov, who is a Navalny ally stated that at the hearing, the prosecutors asked the court to prohibit the group from organising any protests, publishing things online, and taking part in elections.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter