- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

23:44

London

19:14

Dubai

22:14

NewYork

14:14

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Philippines tells China to mind its own business over maritime drills

2021-04-29
IMG

Delfin Lorenzana, Philippines Defence Secretary said that Beijing had no authority to tell them whether they conduct exercises in their Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) or not. As on Saturday, hilippine coast guard and fisheries bureau had started maritime exercises in the 200-mile EEZ, so to counter the increasing threat of Chinese boats.

 This statement had come post China’s response to the maritime exercise stating that Philippines should stop complicating the situation and increasing the tension. 

In the recent past President Rodrigo Duterte's embracing of Beijing has kept tensions eased. But still the president has said that though China has been a good friend, but still there are things that cannot be compromised, as there will be no compromise on the country’s sovereignty in the South China Sea.

Foreign Secretary Teodoro Locsin said on Wednesday that the Chinese can say whatever they want from their country, and we will also continue to protest from our waters, as we have the right by the international law that has been won by the country in The Hague.

The exercises took place near a Philippine-held island in the disputed Spratly archipelago and at the heavily contested Scarborough Shoal, which the tribunal in 2016 said was a traditional fishing spot for several countries.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter