- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:47

London

18:17

Dubai

21:17

NewYork

13:17

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Gucci, Facebook file joint lawsuit against alleged counterfeiter

2021-04-27
IMG

This is for the first time that an Internet giant has joined hands with a luxury brand to fight the proliferation of counterfeit goods that are being sold through the social media sites. 

Both Gucci and Facebook have filed a joint lawsuit in California against an individual who is stated to be using the U.S social media platform to sell fake Gucci products, the companies stated on Tuesday.

Similar kinds of lawsuits were earlier filed by Amazon with Valentino and Ferragamo. 

In the complaint it is stated that the individual uses various facebook and instagram accounts to sell the products, and the sale of which has boomed in the recent past, due to the pandemic being a reason, and hence the stores being shut.

Groups like Facebook are keen to make a bigger push into the luxury market and "social commerce", but to do so they need to show that their platforms are not a conduit for counterfeiting and are safe for brands, some of which are reluctant to sell their products through third-party players.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter