- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

21:40

London

17:10

Dubai

20:10

NewYork

12:10

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Grieving relatives pay respects to doomed Indonesian submariners

2021-04-26
IMG

On Monday the Indonesian Navy was looking for ways to see how to salvage the remains of the submarine from the sea bottom and get the bodies of the 53 sailors who died onboard.

On Sunday the German-built KRI Nanggala-402, was found lying on the seabed and broken into three parts, four days after it lost contact while preparing for a torpedo drill.

The grieving relatives of the sailors gathered on the seashore in Bali on Monday to pay their respects. Experts have said that to get the submarine on the surface will require special salvage equipment, as the process was being discussed with experts and international bodies.

A sonar scan detected at least three parts of the submarine at a depth of 850 metres (2,789 ft), far beyond Nanggala’s diving range.

Some relatives came on Bali’s north coast on Monday, carrying incense and flowers and holding photographs of the sailors, while others went into the sea in a boat and spread flower petals in water.

The Indonesian President offered his condolences and said that the government would carry out the educational expenses of the sailors’ children.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter