- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:51

London

18:21

Dubai

21:21

NewYork

13:21

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Germany will send oxygen, medical aid to India to help in COVID crisis

2021-04-26
IMG

Heiko Maas, Germany’s foreign minister on Monday said that the country will send oxygen and medical aid to India in the coming days to help it tackle its COVID-19 crisis

India recorded a successive fourth day record peak of 349,691 in the past 24 hours.Due to lack of oxygen, hospitals are turning away patients.

The Minister further said that there is a second wave that is going across India, and Germany rightly acted quickly in order to stop the new mutation in the country.

Germany has classified India as a coronavirus high incidence area and also put the country on a separate warning list for coronavirus variants.

Starting from Monday, Germans arriving from India will have to carry a negative test result and will then be quarantined for 14 days. Any other foreign traveller will not be allowed from India.

According to the government authorities, the military has been asked to provide a mobile oxygen production facility, apart from transporting other emergency and relief goods to India. Angela Merkel, the German Chancellor has also expressed her sympathy over the situation in India. She stated that Germany stands with India during this difficult time and it is soon preparing for a support mission.

The European Commission has also said it aims to send oxygen and medicines to India after receiving a request from Delhi. Britain and the United States are also sending assistance including medical equipment

Subscribe To Our Newsletter