- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

18:19

London

13:49

Dubai

16:49

NewYork

08:49

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

GM to idle Corvette output due to parts supply shortage

2021-02-25
IMG

General Motors is looking to halt production of the hot-selling Corvette sports car next week due to a parts shortage. There Bowling Green Assembly plant in Kentucky, that produces the 2021 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray, will halt production from March 1 to March 5.
Though the automaker has still not specified the supply issue, it is clear that the shortage is not related to the global semiconductor chip shortage that's proving to be a thorn in automakers' sides.
"Due to a temporary parts supply issue, we can confirm that Bowling Green Assembly will not run production the week of March 1," GM spokesman Dan Flores said in an email. "Our supply chain, manufacturing and engineering teams are working closely with our supply base to mitigate any further impact on production, and we expect the plant to resume normal operations on Monday, March 8."
GM had seen a rise of 158 percent in deliveries of the new Corvette to 8,992 during the fourth quarter, GM said. They increased 20 percent to 21,626 deliveries for all of 2020.
In October and November 2020, also the production was halted due to supply chain shortages caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.
 

Subscribe To Our Newsletter