- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

23:21

London

18:51

Dubai

21:51

NewYork

13:51

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Fighting erupts in Myanmar; junta to 'consider' ASEAN plan

2021-04-27
IMG

There has been one of the most intense clashes since the coup, as on Tuesday fighting erupted in eastern Myanmar near the Thai border as ethnic minority Karen insurgents attacked an army outpost.

This is post the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) weekend meeting in Indonesia, as the leaders had said that they had reached a consensus with the junta on steps to end violence and promote dialogue between the rival Myanmar sides.

As per the Karen National Union (KNU), that is considered to be the oldest rebel force in Myanmar, it has captured the army camp on the west bank of the Salween river. There was heavy gunfire before dawn, as per the sources. And the outpost was taken over by the KNU forces around 5 a.m. to 6 a.m.

There has been no comment by the Myanmar military, as it proclaims to keep the ethnically diverse country of more than 53 million people together.

The army base at the Thai border had been largely surrounded by KNU forces and food had run short there in recent weeks, according to Thai villagers who had contact with the soldiers.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter