- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

23:37

London

19:07

Dubai

22:07

NewYork

14:07

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Egypt's Sisi receives coronavirus vaccine

2021-04-28
IMG

Egypt has started its vaccination drive with doses of AstraZeneca's COVID-19 vaccine under global COVAX agreement to provide vaccines for lower-income countries, as well as jabs produced by China's Sinopharm. 

Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, the Egyptian President received the jab on Sunday, though his office did not specify on the type of vaccine he got.

Awad Tag el-Din, Sisi's adviser for health affairs, told a local news channel on Friday that around half a million people in Egypt had been vaccinated so far.

The number of cases have been increasing in the recent past, and according to official data, 912 new cases and 39 more deaths have been reported as of Saturday.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter