- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:08

London

16:38

Dubai

20:38

NewYork

11:38

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Earthquake of magnitude 6.0 strikes India’s Assam, some buildings damaged

2021-04-28
IMG

As per the sources, on Wednesday, an earthquake of magnitude 6.0, hit the northeastern state of Assam, damaging some buildings. According to the United States Geological Survey the epicentre was at a depth of 34 km (21 miles), 140 km (86 miles) north of Assam's main city, Guwahati.

The Chief Minister of Assam, said that he prays for the well-being of all, and he urges everyone to stay safe.

Some residents stated that they had never seen such tremors in their lives, and there were cracks on walls and floor on some houses. People stayed outside their houses, fearing fresh vibrations. There were tremors felt in other parts of the country and also in nearby Bhutan.

India's National Disaster Management Agency was assessing reports of destruction and casualties after the quake, said an official at the agency who asked to remain unidentified.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter