- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

18:37

London

14:07

Dubai

17:07

NewYork

09:07

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Daimler says 2021 off to a strong start, to speed up electrification 

2021-03-31
IMG

On Wednesday, Daimler AG, a German carmaker announced that it has got off to a good start in 2021 in spite of a lack of semiconductor chips, and it decides to pace up the shift towards electric cars in its model lineup.

The company stated that it still hopes 2021 to be a notably better year for revenue, and pre-tax profits than 2020.

After a remarkable start along with a tailwind from the previous year, Daimler is well confident regarding the current financial year, the company had announced in a statement.

The carmaker announced that the preparations are underway for the planned listing of Daimler Trucks, its truck making unit, and expects it to finish by the end of 2021.

The carmaker had told that it decided to ramp up the electrification of its product range but did not specify.

In 2019, Daimler stated that it hopes plug-in hybrids or all-electric vehicles will reach more than 50% of its car sales  by the year 2030. The Chief Executive, Ola Källenius had said in a statement that they wish to pace up the electrification of their product portfolio, and plan to achieve the target soon.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter