- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:09

London

17:39

Dubai

20:39

NewYork

12:39

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

China censors Chloe Zhao’s Oscar win, but fans find ways to rejoice

2021-04-27
IMG

The historic win of Chloe Zhao on Sunday, as she became the first Chinese and woman of colour to be named as the best director for “Nomadand”, was reason enough to celebrate it with jubilation in China, instead the country imposed a virtual blackout.

Almost all the state-run news agencies made no mention of the Oscars, leaving alone Chloe, and there was a hurry to delete and limit the circulation of the news that forced users to use homonyms. Over the recent past Chloe has been a target of a nationalist backlash over her remarks about China in the past. In 2013 she had said in an interview to a U.S magazine, that China is a place where there are lies everywhere.

But nothing deterred her fans, who are resorted to ways that are familiar with many Chinese internet users. That includes blurring Zhao’s name or putting sashes or exclamation marks when using any Chinese name. 

Subscribe To Our Newsletter