- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

23:41

London

19:11

Dubai

22:11

NewYork

14:11

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

California governor seeks end to oil drilling in state by 2045

2021-04-24
IMG

After pressure from environmental activists and progressive politicians stating that California's goals of moving away from fossil fuels and fighting climate change cannot go side-by-side with extraction of oil and gas in one of the nation’s top oil-producing states, the California Governor Gavin Newsom on Friday directed his administration to take steps to phase out oil and gas drilling by 2045 and to ban new fracking permits within three years.

There has been a decline in oil production of the state since the 1980s due to tough environmental standards, but still remains the seventh-biggest U.S. crude oil producer, second-biggest oil consumer, and home to a tenth of U.S. refining capacity, as per government data.

The state has also had various aggressive climate change policies that include a goal to ban gasoline-powered cars by 2035.

Still there has been criticism from various green groups and lawmakers that said that the state needs to phase out drilling more earlier than the time specified, and the gas industry criticized the state stating the action would hurt drilling-dependent jobs and communities.

The Western States Petroleum Association, in a statement, pledged "to fight this harmful and unlawful mandate."

Subscribe To Our Newsletter