- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

21:42

London

17:12

Dubai

20:12

NewYork

12:12

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Biden talks tough on China in first speech to Congress

2021-04-29
IMG

In his first speech to Congress on Wednesday, President Joe Biden said that since China and other countries are closing in fast, the U.S. needs to develop and dominate the product technologies in the future. He also said that he pledges to maintain a strong U.S. military presence in the Indo-Pacific and promises to boost technological development and trade.

Biden also stated that he does not see any reason why the blades for wind turbines cannot be made in Pittsburgh instead of Beijing, which drew a strong applause.

He said that the country would not stand for unfair trade practices, which undercuts American industry and workers.

He said that while speaking with his Chinese counterpart, he told him that the U.S. will maintain a strong military presence in the Indo—Pacific, just like it does for NATO in Europe, which is not to start any conflict, but to prevent one.

Biden has been urging lawmakers to pass new laws that would push Beijing on human rights, address the trade imbalance and boost funding for the U.S. to develop new technologies and to compete effectively with China.

In a departure from the go-it-alone foreign policy of his Republican predecessor former President Donald Trump, Biden said he would work closely with allies to counter the threats posed by the nuclear programs of Iran and North Korea.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter