- °C

-

-

IMG-LOGO

India

22:07

London

16:37

Dubai

20:37

NewYork

11:37

LOGO
Covid 19 Updates Last updated: May 7, 2021, 06:19 GMT

Confirmed

156,681,524

Recovered

134,042,630

Deaths

3,269,340

Australian mining magnate loses copyright battle with Twisted Sister

2021-04-30
IMG

Clive Palmer, the Australian mining magnate, has been ordered by the Australian court to pay A$1.5 million ($1.2 million) to Universal Music on Friday for breaching the copyright of Twisted Sister’s 1984 hit song “We’re Not Gonna Take It”, that was modified and used in advertising for his political outfit, United Australia Party for the 2019 general elections.

As per Palmer the tune in the advertising was based on the Christian hymn “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” and had nothing to do with the U.S. glam rockers’ hit song.

Anna Katzmann, the Federal Court Justice stated that Palmer’s defence was fanciful

Federal Court Justice Anna Katzmann said Palmer’s defence was “fanciful”, and also said that he had given false evidence, and was contemptuous.

Palmer was ordered to pay costs to remove all copies of his songs

In a response to the judgement the Twisted Sister lead singer Dee Snider said that it was a big win.

Whereas a spokesman for Palmer said that he would examine the ruling and consider an appeal.

Palmer made a fortune from real estate and mining before entering federal politics in 2013 on a populist platform.

His party won a handful of seats before imploding in acrimony and in-fighting, and failed to win a single seat in 2019 despite spending A$83 million on advertising.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter